Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Importing a 4.2 l diesel from Japan; am I nuts?

Harriet

Country Flag
japan
Hi everyone, newbie here. I've just posted a quick self intro in the "introduce yourself" forum....basically I'm a Brit over in Japan who wants to buy and eventually import a 70 series to the UK. I'm interested in the swb JDM models whose production ran up til 2004, (I think). They have the 4.2l diesel engine. I don't think they were ever sold in the UK. Can anyone advise me as to whether this is a nutty idea, or if it is doable? My main concerns are getting parts. Can these be easily serviced in the UK? Sadly, neither my partner nor myself have any mechanical skills or experience.
I'd use it as a daily driver, a workhorse for carrying stuff and as a vehicle to cover lots of miles in Europe. No off roading or towing.
Tax and insurance won't be cheap but that's just a bullet I'd have to bite.
They aren't particularly cheap in Japan but those I've seen are well maintained with low miles; 200,000km on a early '90s vehicle would put it in the high mileage range over here. Do they really go on and on and on?
I'm also thinking that something this old would bypass any emissions regs and could be imported and registered easily as a Single Vehicle Import.
Any info or comments would be appreciated! Thanks.

The salt-free first 200,000 miles is the biggest attraction.

Many UK models are already rotten by that time, so the higher price will only reflect the better condition, and should be well worth paying IMO.

I made the mistake of looking at some on a Japanese site a few days ago, they all looked like they came out of the showroom underneath :(

Not nuts at all. Can you get me one?