LC 80 series Transmission Relay

Paul_Humphreys

Well-Known Member
Supporter
Joined
Mar 1, 2010
Messages
1,301
Country Flag
uk
Part number 89531-60010 for my Landcruiser as mine has died!! It is the one that is behind the autobox ecu in the right hand footwell.

So right not I have no centre difflock, so I also can not use the axle lockers :(

Before anyone asks how do I know, I found out in the worse place today!! I have also got the offending part in my hand!

Paul
 

Paul_Humphreys

Well-Known Member
Supporter
Joined
Mar 1, 2010
Messages
1,301
Country Flag
uk
Well I have messaged 3 people about this part and only one has gotten back to me!!

So £40 it is :o
 

Bat21

Well-Known Member
Supporter
Joined
Feb 24, 2010
Messages
1,902
Country Flag
morocco
Funny this should be posted today.

I was mooching around under the dash today (as you do) and spotted this. As far as I'm aware my box is the early one that isn't solenoid controlled.... so what's in doing in my truck? Is it a spare part that was destined for Paul's LC.

transrelay.jpg
 

Jon Wildsmith

Super Moderator
Supporter
Guru
Joined
Feb 24, 2010
Messages
6,739
Garage
Country Flag
england
That's not the gearbox ECU :) Without looking it up in the EWD I couldn't tell you what it does but from PH's post it's got something to do with the center diff lock ;)
 
Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Bat21

Well-Known Member
Supporter
Joined
Feb 24, 2010
Messages
1,902
Country Flag
morocco
Ooops :oops:

Thanks Jon.... apologies for the thread hijack Paul.
 

Paul_Humphreys

Well-Known Member
Supporter
Joined
Mar 1, 2010
Messages
1,301
Country Flag
uk
It has a lot to do with the CDL Jon :) It is the bit that works it. It is made up of a little board and 3 small relays. One of the 3 is not working on mine that is why the CDL is not working.

So I think you better off leaving yours in place ;)

Bit it looks like I will order the 2nd hand one. I just can not belive that people advertise parts for sale/breaking cars and when you ask them for a part (with a sale waiting) they can not be bothered to get back to me!!

The one that did, sent a message saying he was not sure that he had the part, then another message saying he had the part with a price!!

Paul
 

Paul_Humphreys

Well-Known Member
Supporter
Joined
Mar 1, 2010
Messages
1,301
Country Flag
uk
Bat21 said:
Ooops :oops:

Thanks Jon.... apologies for the thread hijack Paul.


Its ok, if I was not working all the hours I would have taken yours out so I could make sure it was that. But I am 99.9% sure it is that.

Paul
 

Bat21

Well-Known Member
Supporter
Joined
Feb 24, 2010
Messages
1,902
Country Flag
morocco
How come the CDL needs a 'Black Box' for it to work, surely the diff is either on (locked) or off (open)... why didn't Mr Yota make it simple and not have this box of trickery ne_nau.gif
 

Paul_Humphreys

Well-Known Member
Supporter
Joined
Mar 1, 2010
Messages
1,301
Country Flag
uk
Good question, I think that is one of the "few" things LR got right. Not that the light for the CDL on a LR always works!!

Paul
 

Jon Wildsmith

Super Moderator
Supporter
Guru
Joined
Feb 24, 2010
Messages
6,739
Garage
Country Flag
england
I'd guess it needs relays to power the motor, swap polarity for motor direction control and also switch the motor power according to position of the drive gear so it stops running ;) You could just change the 1 relay that has failed Paul? Shame I didn't harvest the box's off my old 80.
 

Paul_Humphreys

Well-Known Member
Supporter
Joined
Mar 1, 2010
Messages
1,301
Country Flag
uk
I did think of trying of swaping one, but I am not sure of the one that is not working and they are soldered to the board, all looking the same.

I was thinking that Jon, I bet you left the diff ecu in aswell!!

Paul
 

Jon Wildsmith

Super Moderator
Supporter
Guru
Joined
Feb 24, 2010
Messages
6,739
Garage
Country Flag
england
I didn't take any of the ECU's out, just the CDL switch. I thought someone like stef would have so many of them they'd be virtually worthless and I'm a bit tight for space to have stored them :roll:

By the time you've removed the old one and found a replacement that will fit or made some fly leads it's probably cheaper to get another 'ECU' it was just a thought.
 

Paul_Humphreys

Well-Known Member
Supporter
Joined
Mar 1, 2010
Messages
1,301
Country Flag
uk
stef has got one now. He text me last night. I have only unpluged the relay. Thw ecu is lose but still pluged in.

Paul
 
Top