Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Snorkel

I have been driving my LC 100 for about 10 years now. I have made a few minor mods as in a double battery and better navigation unit. That's about it.

I have always wondered what the need is of a snorkel?

I wonder if any of us on a regular basis go that deep into water that you need a snorkel at roof level.
If it comes to dust, I have done thousands of miles in desert areas and very dusty track and I had never any issues with overload of dust in my air filters. (Btw you can rinse them in a bucket of water [emoji6]).

So why a snorkel [emoji848] ?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I think most people that use them talk mostly of the dust and cleaner air benefit rather than the wading depth. Tbh, if you are planning on going into water deeper than the 700mm you get from the factory, then there are so many other factors at play. Diff breathers, water ingress to the cabin, grease in bearings, not to mention the danger of being swept away in a current if it's a river. If anything it encourages people with little experience to go into water they shouldn't thinking that the snork will protect them.

I don't have one, and won't. I've been through 2 feet of water a few times, but wouldn't like to go much more than that

They help emergency services find you when it turns out to be deeper than you expected :lol: some like the look , for others its the easiest way to hide wiring up to roof so they don't have to drill holes in the roof , and some i suppose live in constant threat of floods where a snorkel really could make a life or death difference .

Its personal choice and there's no right or wrong in that .

Last edited: