Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Back door drop. Cracked door skin.

Rob Cowell

Country Flag
wales
Just wondered if anyone has had and in any way resolved this. My back door has dropped about 10mm against the catch it locks against. The door skin around the bottom hinge has cracked open. Can find quite a few instances of this on Pradopoint but no suggestions of how to bodge a repair other than shim the bottom hinge. I don't care if it looks messy as long as functionality is restored. Any one sorted this without a new door?

I'll upload a picture later. On ropey 3G at the moment.

Ta

image.jpeg

I am by no means an expert on this but if it were mine, I would consider gently jacking up the outer edge of the door while it is 90 degrees open then grinding a little paint off at 50mm intervals along the edges that have parted after making sure they have returned to where they should be. Then with someone holding a wet towel on the outside skin, behind, tack weld with a mig on each of the bare patches stopping to let the door cool to avoid outer paintwork damage.

Might work. See what others think.

I would go with starcruiser if it was me as it will last longer than any other bodge.

Papier-mâché (without the glue) works well as a heatsink, used to use it a lot when gas welding thin panels.

But what has made it drop? I've got ambulance doors on my 80, a bit like Ben's LJ, and the hinges had worn badly, meaning the doors had dropped so much they fouled each other at the top.

Drilled out the 'femail' of the hinge and inserted bronze bar, then drilled that to suit new steel pins. It all pressed fitted together nicely, with some grease.

No play now.

Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them