Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Importing a LC100 into South Africa

Dark Dude

What is the best and cheapest way of importing a oil burning LC100 for private use into South Africa?

John

Hi John
I've just imported my LC80 into Namibia about a week ago - mmmm and I'm thoroughly enjoying it.....

Cheapest way is to ship it RORO (roll on roll off) where the vehicle goes on a giant ferry. It is not secure and your likely to have stuff stolen out of it if you send it to a South African port (even the spare wheel will be stolen). I shipped mine to Walvis Bay, even with a few bits inside, and nothing was stolen - very pleased with that! The car did receive a scrape on the wheel molding though :(

RORO cost me £850 (speak to Mike at NMT Shipping), plus insurance 0f £300.
In Walvis Bay, I had to pay £450 clearing agent fees, port fees and permits etc.
And then VAT of 15.5% based on the Customs Value of the car (There was no import duty as I was a returning resident).

I still have to get all the licencing sorted out - but that is just a case of standing in the queue and dealing with government inefficiency...

From speaking to the shipping guys, it seems it is best to stick your car in a container if you're shipping to South Africa - then you know it is secure. And it is not that much more expensive than RORO (I think £1.5k to SA but its £2.5k to Namibia).

Cheers
James

hi john
its is going to cost you alot of money are going to live there?
if so have you had the car for 2 years ?
i was looking at inporting some cars and its going to cost alot i think they have a 100% inport tax + vat 14% on cars. unless you have had the car for 2 years and are moving to SA. you then have to keep it for another 2 years.
are you just taking down to drive back?
i am going to SA on the 19/12 so if you need any help give me a shout.
i could be proven wrong i hope so as its a good place to inport things as the cars go for so much over there.