Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Manual Gearbox Questions

David Killough

Country Flag
angola
I'm new to the diesel Cruisers, and recently obtained a 95 VX Cruiser with the 24v 1HD-FT turbo diesel. As most UK spec cruisers of that year are, it too is a manual. As I've learned, most Cruisers around the world are automatics, but Toyota apparently took a lorry gear box and put it into the UK spec Cruisers to help them sell. Not sure if that is fact or fiction, but maybe it will explain my problem.

I have a lot of trouble shifting into 1st and 2nd gear from the neutral position. Also, if I'm downshifting from 3rd gear into 2nd, it's quite a pain too. Sometimes I'm able to get in by double/triple clutching.

No manual gearbox in other vehicles I've driven did this unless there was some sort of problem, but I've heard that this may be normal.

Any ideas???

David

They can be a bit prone to this by all accounts but yours sounds quite bad. The oil used in them can make a big difference but in your case there's probably more to it than that. I'm sure the experts will be along soon, I've only just got into a manual 80 myself having had a couple of auto 80's in the past. FWIW mine goes in and out of any gear fine so when they're working right they're easy to get on with and yours is not normal but also not that unusual ...

Stick some thinner oil in it, that usually helps. They are a clunky box even when new! Try it on ATF for a bit see if that cures it.

Ok, so you lot are recommending a thinner weight oil? I'm not sure about putting ATF in it. Is there a better synthetic oil or something similar? Has anyone had this similar problem and fixed it by changing the oil weight or type?

I'll be changing whatever is in mine for this soon on the basis I've read in a few places on the net of it being a good choice for these box's, time will tell ...