Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Extractors - Will they have any noticeable gains?

Pablito

Hi

I'm driving a
1985 BJ73
3B diesel, non-turbo

I popped in to a mechanic to check an exhaust leak. He said its somewhere near the manifold, and to find out exactly what the problem was he would have to take it in to his workshop. He said minimum $200 (Australian dollars) - if its the gasket, may be double if the manifold is cracked.

I can get extractors off ebay for $400. The ebay ad says "great horsepower and torque gains"
The muffler mechanic thought extractors would be beneficial.
But my mate says no I won't get any increase in power etc.

Anyone have any experience or thoughts???

cheers,

Paul

I have no experience on this engine, but it's a fact that "extractors" do improve exhaust efficiency so it's inevitable that some improvement will be made, just how much... others on this site may be able to tell you...

Moons ago I had a mini 1071cc "S" stage 2 tuned and that had a long centre branch exhaust (LCB) 'extractor' and the before & after difference was very noticable, but maybe that was because it was a tuned engine (modded cam, in/ex ports, compression, DCOE Webber carbs etc...) sigh, those were the days...

Hi

I'm driving a
1985 BJ73
3B diesel, non-turbo

I popped in to a mechanic to check an exhaust leak. He said its somewhere near the manifold, and to find out exactly what the problem was he would have to take it in to his workshop. He said minimum $200 (Australian dollars) - if its the gasket, may be double if the manifold is cracked.

I can get extractors off ebay for $400. The ebay ad says "great horsepower and torque gains"
The muffler mechanic thought extractors would be beneficial.
But my mate says no I won't get any increase in power etc.

Anyone have any experience or thoughts???

cheers,

Paul