Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

front differential

nikimiki

hi i am a newbie to this site, but i think i have serious problem with my cruiser. :cry: its a 1997 colorado 3.0 GTXD was running fine one day then the next it decided it was going to be sick.
the problem seems to be with the front diff according to my mechanic..the prop is fine..but i am worried about the gear box also as the lc will go into gear in normal driving but if you go above 20mph it vibrates very very very badly..but in normal driving it will not move at all reverse and makes a horible crunching/grinding noise.
if you put it in h and reverse the lc will reverse.
is there a problem going on with gear box/transfer box or is this soley a diff problem.
any help will be appreciated.

We went green lanning and a chap on here had similar issues (spin drift) He may be able to haelp you with this problem.
I have a 90 series that im breaking if you decided to go down the second hand route.
Good look and i hope it turns out to be a cheaper fix than maybe your thinking
karl

hi karl
thank you very much for your reply
i am hoping its a cheaper fix than anticipated also.
you mentioned you are breaking a cruiser could you give me price on the front diff
and would you have any idea on how much to post/courier to glasgow.
thank you niki

Im thinking it may be more like the cvJoint. I know last year when a few of us were at the meet they have at lincomb tony p who is on here broke a shaft on the front end. See what feedback you get on here as the spin drift may know what went wrong with his.
He had the reverse problem as i had to pull him backwards so he could move off again.

My num is 07968389167 if I can help in any way.

Thanks karl

:text-offtopic:

Hi Niki, Glasgow not that far from me.
I'm 10 miles north of Balloch :)
I might be able to give you a hand

hi karl