Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Gearbox swap, info please

Roger Crocker

Country Flag
great_britain
Hi
This has probably been asked many times before but as I am still learning how the website works I,ll ask it again!!
Will the 100 series 4.2TD manual gearbox fit straight into a 92 reg. 80 4.2TD are there any unforeseen challenges.
Secondly, anybody done a auto to manual swop on an 80 4.2TD
I wondered what the pitfalls, cost are likely to be.
Many Thanks

Yes, it will. I fitted an Amazon box to my 80. The bell housing is completely different though so use the one from the 80 series.

Even though it's the same 4.2 in both?
I thought the auto box bell housing would be the main difference where it bolts onto the box itself.
If the only difference between the 100 4.2 are the later electronic gizmos attached, then it might work to swap an engine & box complete
Apparently the props on a manual 80 are different length to an Auto 80 I believe?

Roger, sorry all I can tell you is that I got a 100 manual box with a bell housing attached and it was very different. It was sold to me as an 80 box. I had to junk the bell housing to get it to fit. It was a manual bell housing obviously as it was a manual box.

Genuinely I can't tell you anything thing more than that. There are several different prop lengths across the 80 series. Those with viscous couplings use a shorter rear and autos are different to manuals. I'm not that encyclopaedic I'm afraid. But you asked if a 100 series manual box will fit a manual 80 and the answer is yes.

I can't comment on the auto manual swap although I know people have done it. I just don't know why you'd want to to be honest

I did wonder why you would want to do the swap Roger?

The only sameness between the 80 and 100 diesel is "4.2" "6 cylinder" and block. Apart from block nearly everything else has different part numbers.