Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Inverter overload

David Killough

Country Flag
angola
Hey everyone,

I've got a Mobitronic (waeco) 600w inverter that is powering my Tristar supercool 45 fridge. The inverter output is 230v at 50hz and the fridge runs at 230v at 50hz. The inverter is powered from my dual battery system and is connected to a 3rd battery in the back for operation when the motor is off. My question is this. Why would my inverter be going into overload? I'm no electrician, but then again, it was setup like this when I bought it. I do have the inverter mounted sideways on my rear drawer system. It's tucked under one of the wings, but there is still plenty of room for cooling. Any ideas???

David

Attachments

• mobileimage.jpg
    mobileimage.jpg
    194.5 KB · Views: 442
Almost exactly the same as my set up. Mine doesn't over load. And I run a 550W angle grinder off mine. Sure it's not the low supply alarm?

Chris

Chris,

There's definitely a buzzing that goes off, but I've also noticed the fridge stops cooling too. Not sure if it's drawing touch power or if the battery is flat or what... I'd think with the dual fronts running to the back also charging battery #3 there wouldn't be much issue. Is the inverter under powered for the job??

Doesn't look like much cooling there for sure. It's not enough with space around the inverter. You need circulation as well.

Put a voltmeter on the input, so that you know what voltage the battery is feeding it. If you draw 100 watts, it will suck 10 amps from the battery, presuming 80 % efficiency including cable loss.

Small voltmeters like this are cheap, take little space, and are easy to install. Put one for each battery, at least.
sku_147222_1.jpg

http://dx.com/p/mini-3-digit-blue-displ ... 30v-147222

uHu,