Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Seek and ye shall.............

Citizen Brown

Country Flag
england
Well waste a lot of fecking time!

I have been looking for an 80 for some few months now gradually getting more serious. Sold my Vito in November to free up the £ and been running round in an 04 hilux work truck since. Not a massive chore but a bit of a donkey..

Looking in all the usual places, Fleabay, Gumtree (scam central) autotrader etc etc. Actually looked at about 3 all overpriced, over-optimistically-described but never over here (that is never comfortably close)

Then New Year - New Dawn the ideal spec crops up P reg 24v Manual in WHITE, 180k, 41 stamps in service book (?) and it is in auction in Rothwell 30 miles from PRSY - its a sign, divine intervention it just HAS TO BE.

Wednesday morning drove up bright and early, too early really had to stand and watch what seemed like a thousand motors go past. I am no expert but all the cars looked reasonably priced, all selling.

Inspected the 80 it looked in good condition, no real body damage or rust trim looked used but not horrible, no leaks underneath looked in order again no major rust.

Finally auctioneer got round to the 80. £2k start. Great I am going to nick this (I had come armed with £6k so thought I would be taking it home)

Bidding then went mental. Must have been 10 bidders taking it past £5k and then it settled down to the hardcore, me and 2 others I think.

Got to £6k - ring twitching I soldiered on but lost my bottle at £6,400 to be beaten by £100.00. Almost went back in at £6,600.00 but I was certain the other bidder would be back with more.

So a day wasted.

i spoke to the other bidder, shook his hand, thanked him for a good joust and wished him well. But here is the rub, not a forum member or other civilian that wanted a good 80 but a DEALER!!! WTF.