Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Best tools on a budget...?

Lorin

Its about time I learnt/practiced some of the more common and simple jobs on the truck, so I need to buy some tools :think: Now I'm no mechanic so the tools do not have to be the best there is and funds are tight. However, they will likely form the toolkit that comes on my travels so they need to be of reasonable qualilty and I have NO patience with s*#t equipment that just breaks, makes things harder, or works once or not at all :evil:

I have absolutely no idea about which brands are good beyond Silverline likely being pretty crap and Snapon probably being pretty good. So my question is what brands offer the best value for money? And, where would be best to buy them?

The bits I need to buy first are tap and dies, screw extractors, metal drill bits, and a centre punch (seeing as every friggin bolt I touch either sheers, knackers the thread, or disintigrates in a cloud of rust :doh: :evil: ). I will then slowly build up a kit to include the relevant sockets, spanners, screwdrivers etc as my cheap ones break.

Although like most |I would life a toolbox full of Snapon tools, that is not going to hasppen. I now buy the Halfords professional range. Not too expensive but reasonable quality.

The best bit is that they come with a lifetime guarantee so if anything breaks you take it straight back (even without receipt) and they give you a new bit there and then.

As for consumable items, drill bits etc, I bought the last lot from B&Q, but the quality was crap, so I would not recommend those!