Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Ghetto-blaster sound!! Who has what for their 80

Steveindar

Country Flag
tanzania
I have an urge in my late years to play my childhood rock at the sound-levels it deserves, has anyone installed nose-bleed audio, what and how? I am a total novice at this.:icon-biggrin:

Thx

Steve

I have an urge in my late years to play my childhood rock at the sound-levels it deserves

Steve

I too do that but I have to rely on my mobile with ear phones, my 80 stereo died a couple of Xmas's back, looking at a touch screen model. Back to your question, even years ago if you wanted REALLY loud music without distortion it was about the amps and speakers and batteries, I doubt that has changed. You may have to concede some boot space if you want serious bass. The rear bass OE unit is not even close to delivering what I think you want.

regards

Dave

I have an urge in my late years to play my childhood rock at the sound-levels it deserves, has anyone installed nose-bleed audio, what and how? I am a total novice at this.:icon-biggrin:

Thx

Steve

Ive just installed Polk Audio coaxials in both front and back doors using this as a guide:
http://forum.ih8mud.com/threads/rear-door-speaker-upgrade.329297/
http://forum.ih8mud.com/threads/front-door-speaker-upgrade.327663/

I have also added polk Audio 1" tweeters to the top of the A pillars, the tweeters are running off the pumpkin double din android head unit and the coaxials are fed by a kenwood 4 channel amp.
Bass/Sub bass is provided by a TEAC active sub that lives under the passenger seat,
I had bought two amps before i realised that there is no room under the back seats to mount amplifiers, I got round this by using the existing rear quarter subwoofer mounting plate to mount the kenwood amplifier on a bit of plywood.