Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

hj60 springs

walesdale

Supporter
Country Flag
wales
hello people,i just fitted a set of standerd milner springs and shocks all round on my 60 and its awful
its bouncing around everywhere , even with the tyre pressures down to 18 psi (31/10.5/15)
does anyone know where i can get a nice set of springs that ride nice,thanks

Dale,

I'm no expert on this but from what I've read new leaf springs aways feel hard for a while and soften up after some use.

Hope this helps and look forward to see if you get any more information as I put a question asking what others had used and what is good still waiting for a reply on that.

Mike.

Dale,

I'm no expert on this but from what I've read new leaf springs aways feel hard for a while and soften up after some use.

Hope this helps and look forward to see if you get any more information as I put a question asking what others had used and what is good still waiting for a reply on that.

Mike.

cheers mike,ive about 1000 mile in it and it still wont give in,,thanks

OME are pretty much a copy of the original design which is the best design for a 60 but expensive. Best ride can be achieved with a set of original springs,taken apart and each leaf shotblasted and painted. The top two leaves taken to a spring manufacturer and re tempered with a 1" re arch. With a flap wheel smooth any wear ridges out. Replace all the teflon cushions at the end of most leaves (still available from Toyota) and re assemble. The spring will pretty much resemble a new one. Original dampers are ok but Bilstien give a great ride with springs done up as above. Use original Toyota rubber bushes as they also give a better ride than poly bushes.

hope this helps.

Andy

Tony said you were the man to ask !!!

Can you also lift on original springs? Iknow it is possible just wondering how they perform.

Mike.