Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Parasitic Battery Drain

Roger

Supporter
Country Flag
uk
Thoughts appreciated on this little issue I am having, realised following very dead batteries after just a week of standing:

I'm getting 0.45amp draw with ignition off. I pulled all fuses (and relays) one by one to see if I could find the circuit - but nothing. The winches and driving relays/solenoids where fully isolated to disprove them. Any additional wiring I have ever added goes through the 12v additional/supplementary wiring box near the OffSide Battery - again all fused and fuses pulled during checking.

So, with my non electrical brain I have a short to earth somewhere or there are items which remain live and are not part of the fuse box system. Im no electrical expert but I would have thought other than the radio memory there should be nothing live on shutoff for this motor? - 1992 HDJ80

Fuses checked: Main Fuse Box within engine compartment, supplementary wiring box on drivers side, fuses near to the right knee of the driver on the dashboard.

Any ideas?

Hi Roger
I cannot think what it could be as I cannot see 1/2 a amp dragging down enough to flatten a battery over a week !
But just a couple of things,
Do you have two batteries wired in parallel ?
Have you checked the batteries them selves (what I would call a drop test)
and sorry to ask (not that I don't believe you) but are you sure it is .45 amp
and not 4.5 amp

Half an amp? Hmm that is a lot. I had a similar drain and it turned out to be after market stereo speakers with an amp that was run on house alarm batteries. The drain was the built in charger trying to charge long dead batteries.

All I can think of is, yes, stereo, alarm, tow bar socket perhaps but unlikely. It's probably something that's been added but where is the power being picked up from?