Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

CDL Question

Ecoman

Country Flag
scotland
Ok so this might sound like a dumb question but If I fitted a Centre Diff Lock Switch and wired it up would that mean that every time I selected low box I could turn off the diff lock if not needed? Mine is a 1993 auto with an overdrive button on the side of the gear selector. I find it a pain when off roading that when I select low box the CDL is automatically engaged. If I get into a tricky situation and need both front and rear diffs locked but need to turn the steering it starts to wind up the transmission and the truck starts banging out a tune. Not nice :?

Not quite.

You need to pull a pin on side of the transfer box as well. then you have to press switch in high or lo for cdl to engage.

much better.

Wow thanks for the quick respose. :thumbup:

Ok so can you elaborate a bit for me please. I'm fairly new at the mecanical/electrical workings of an LC so still finding my way about.

There are two plugs on top of the transfer box, one is the CDL in low range switch, pull one at a time & you'll find the right one.

It is a very simple mod Bill & so very much worthwhile. I'd been driving Muxley around without doing it for ages & driving offroad with that terrible auto shift pattern in low box...

We had some time to kill on a trip along Strata Florida so I did it under the supervision of Chris J & it transforms the driving experience!!!

I think if you search about there's a pic of the plug to remove...

But as Declan says, there's only a choice of two!!!

No problem!

Get switch first!

Easy to fit into dash - the wiring is in their already ready for the plug. You may / may not have to fish about for it.

then get under truck

lie with your head under the transfer box - feet towards front of truck.