Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Decent hand tool suppliers

SimonD

Country Flag
australia
I have been looking for a local hand tool supplier in London as websites are great until you have to return a tool that has broken etc. I have a local Halfords so that is an option for the professional range.

Snap-on are just too expensive, and I'm not a mechanic, but i want to make sure a have decent ratchets so I contacted Sealey who pointed me at SC Motor Factors in Forest Hill. The guys there have said they have a large range of Laser Tools. Has anybody used Laser Tools at all and what were they like?

It may be useful if this thread became one where everybody puts their favourite hand tool suppliers contact details.

I have had Gedore tools and socket sets, since my apprentice days in RSA.
None of them broke, although a lot got lost over the years.

Another good, seemingly unbreakable brand, is Crescent Tools, they are made in USA, and very well made.

Graham

I am a fan of Draper Expert, had some since i was an apprentice too. Finding quality has dropped a little in recent years though.
Have a look at Machine Mart, they do Clarke which seem to be quite fair, and do a premium range that has a good quarantee.

I agreeWith graham.
I have brought cresent from costco and they have had plenty of hammer and very good.

Also halfords pro. They have a lifetime exchange if they break. Still dont think there as good as cresent though.
karl

Costco only sell to trade though don't they? Membership seems to need a business to tack onto.

Yes simon. Im sure you know somebody who has a card though. Loads of people have them mate.
karl

Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them
I'm very happy with the Halfords Professional range for the price.

I take a Halfords Advanced Professional 150 piece Socket/Ratchet Set with me on my trips, it is a bit big though + a set of long metric combination spanners + a tool roll including a breaker bar.