Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Site problem

fbnss

Well-Known Member
Supporter
Joined
Oct 14, 2013
Messages
3,034
Country Flag
england
This one is connected with hdmi but 10+ years ago I had it connected by "pc input" it's just a big monitor really. Of your pooter has an HDMI on it simple..if it's got pc input then your telly will have to have that
 

fbnss

Well-Known Member
Supporter
Joined
Oct 14, 2013
Messages
3,034
Country Flag
england
As long as you've got the right plug on each end.... It's just another channel on the tv
 

GeekOKent

Well-Known Member
Supporter
Joined
Jul 1, 2013
Messages
2,545
Country Flag
uk
That won't do what you think! :)

In what way? If the user modified the file, the next rpm transaction for that file will put the contents into welcome.conf.rpmnew rather than replace this file. What's likely happening is that Crispin is removing that file to get past the welcome to CentOS page, resulting in the next update replacing that file(!).

What that command will do is give you and empty file at welcome.conf and you are all set.
 
Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

fbnss

Well-Known Member
Supporter
Joined
Oct 14, 2013
Messages
3,034
Country Flag
england
Kb I remember it working and my brother saying what you said but it worked so.....
 

fbnss

Well-Known Member
Supporter
Joined
Oct 14, 2013
Messages
3,034
Country Flag
england
Higgy, you could type that on the commodore 64 (and orobably a BBC) and it would just be like writing lines all down the page with whatever you put between the inverted commas. What these other guys are on about is where the understanding progressed to, however I can only remember that one thing from when I was about 5 years old
 

GeekOKent

Well-Known Member
Supporter
Joined
Jul 1, 2013
Messages
2,545
Country Flag
uk
@fbnss technically line 30 wouldn't get used since line 20 sends it back to 10, always. No? Then you have the matter of running this program. That can't be part of the program.

Did the c64 have some weird basic
 

fbnss

Well-Known Member
Supporter
Joined
Oct 14, 2013
Messages
3,034
Country Flag
england
Whatever you say Kb, it worked is all i can say..I guess so, I remember my dad spending what seemed like 3 years programming some game that had pipes and never finishing it. It probably took as long to save his progress to tape as it did to program it
 

karl2000

Well-Known Member
Supporter
Joined
Apr 27, 2020
Messages
883
Country Flag
great_britain
@fbnss technically line 30 wouldn't get used since line 20 sends it back to 10, always. No? Then you have the matter of running this program. That can't be part of the program.

Did the c64 have some weird basic

+1 As you say, 30 would never get executed, but it obviously wouldn't do any harm sitting there, just pointless. The RUN command wouldn't have a line number to kick the program off, or perhaps when it was loaded from a tape (shift run-stop was it?)....

From what I remember, Commodore Basic was quite a basic basic! :) It didn't have fancy things like local variables, named procedures etc that you found in BBC Basic. Anything fancy was done with POKE'ing into the memory map, rather than with special basic commands like you found on other machines. (Anyone remember all the sound commands on the ORIC? :))

It was good though. They were all good. Computers are boring now that they're all the same
 
Top