Don't like the adverts?  Click here to remove them

Clunking noise when breaking

AGM

Country Flag
uk
Hi all, back for some more advice please!

We're currently about to finish a 2000 mile round trip and have just noticed this morning a clunking noise every time we brake at low speed. Any ideas what it might be?

We have about another 150 miles to get home tomorrow so hoping nothing too serious!

Thanks in advance!

Alex

I'm no expert at all, but:

(i) If it's the brakes and the noise is coming from the front and the brakes are working well, it could be the caliper mounting bolts coming loose. It's a bit of a drastic guess but I can't think of another cause, if it's the brakes.

(ii) Otherwise, it could be excess play in the pivot bearings (top & bottom "king-pin" bearings). If it is you may also feel some knocks on cornering or even in a straight line and may feel a bit of excess play in the steering.

(iii) a loose wheel?

If it's (i) or(iii) I suggest you have a look straight away, is the noise from the front and from one side only? (not much info to go on at this end);

If it's (ii) then it can wait till you get home, but have it checked out.

Best of luck...

caliper bolt loose/missing?
(only had it happen on a LR tho!)

Best finding which wheel it's coming from and have a look if you suspect it's from brakes really, suppose could be one of the bushes as the weight shifts or something else less important!

Calliper bolt sprang to mind here. I've had one drop out before (my fault :whistle:) and the calliper eventually digs itself into the inside of the wheel with fairly obvious lurches when reversing (depending on the bolt that's dropped out). Easy enough to find by having a crawl under the truck and having a poke about. Also, note when the clunk occurs. Is it getting worse? Drive alongside a wall with the windows open and try and see where the sound comes from or have somebody walk alongside while you initiate it. That sort of thing.